Federal Agencies
Digital Guidelines Initiative

Audio System Performance | Content Categories & Digitization Objectives | Digital Imaging Framework | Digitizing Motion Picture Film | Digitization Activities - Project Planning | Embedded Metadata in Broadcast WAVE Files | Embedded Metadata in Digital Still Images  | Embedded Metadata in DPX Files | Embedded Metadata in TIFF Images |  File Format ComparisonsMXF Application Specification | Technical Guidelines for Digitizing Cultural Heritage Materials

Home > Guidelines > Accessibility Features

Guidelines: Accessibility Features for AV Collections Content  

The FADGI AV Working Group is pleased to announce a new project and document for public comment. The FADGI AV Accessibility Subgroup, started after a full working group meeting in December 2021, is focusing on guidelines and processes for federal cultural heritage institutions to address accessibility needs such as captions, subtitles, audio description and transcriptions, for archival audiovisual collections content acquired through collections development scope and policies.  

Definitions for Key Accessibility Features for Archival Audiovisual Content, the subgroup's first deliverable, provides information about definitions and other technical information, including connections to the US Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Communications Commission (FCC), WCAG and US Access Board Section 508. Terms include Audio Description, Closed Captions (CC), EBU STL, Open Captions, Sign Language Interpretation and Translation, Subtitles, Teletext, Timed Text, Transcription/Transcripts and Video Description. Also included are common subtitle and caption file formats and high level coverage of caption and subtitle support in common media players.

Link to draft document is available here. 

Comments are welcome through August 15, 2022 in the document itself, via the FADGI comment form,  or by email to Kate Murray, [email protected].

Members of the FADGI AV Accessibility Subgroup include:

  • Claralyn Burt, Architect of the Capitol
  • Danielle Calle, National Library of Medicine
  • Sarah Eilers, National Library of Medicine
  • Heidi Holmstrom, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
  • Charles Hosale, Library of Congress/American Folklife Center
  • Blake McDowell, National Museum of African American History and Culture/Smithsonian
  • Kate Murray, Library of Congress/FADGI
  • Crystal Sanchez, Smithsonian OCIO
  • James Snyder, Library of Congress/National Audio Visual Conservation Center
  • Kira Sobers, Smithsonian Libraries and Archives
  • Dave Walker, Smithsonian Institution/Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage


Back to Top

Working Groups

Still Image Working Group
This group is involved in a cooperative effort to develop common digitization guidelines for still image materials.

Audio-Visual Working Group
This group works collaboratively on common and sustainable technical guidelines, methods, and practices for digitized and born digital sound recordings and moving images.

Last Updated: 07/12/2022